Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#15296 Sun Aug 12 2007 11:13 AM
I
OP Offline
I
Hey folks, I'm pretty new to gas pumps, and have a few questions for you all. I've had a pair of old pumps sitting around for a while, and finally had some time and money to work on them.

After painting,

and after new parts.

The pumps are Wayne model 10's, which I know are commercial or fleet pumps, as they do not have a dial to calculate price. The face also says something to the effect of "Not for Resale." Does anyone know about how old these critters are, or an approximate value? I don't expect them to be worth much more than the parts that I've put into them, including hoses, nozzles, and signage, but I would appreciate any guesses. The pump on the left is the more complete of the two, with all of the guts intact, and I duplicated the faceplate for the one on the right, as well as molded and cast a new nozzle "sleeve." I still need to cut some plexi for the window, and come up with a gasket to match the original. The parts all took a lot of beating with a hammer to straighten out, and I left many of the dents and dings for my own aesthetic value. I don't like them to look brand new.

Anyway, I hope this is enough information to get a ballpark figure. Mostly, I'd really like to know about how old they are, and appreciate any input anyone might have.

Thanks,

Matt

------------------
"The little bikes may be fun, like the industry people say, but Volkswagens are fun too, and so are BB guns. Big bikes, Ferraris and .44 Magnum revolvers are something beyond fun; they are man-made machines so powerful and efficient in their own realms they challenge a man's ability to control them, to push them to the limits of their design possibilities."
- RIP Hunter S. Thompson (1937-2005)

[This message has been edited by ItchyTriggerFinger (edited 08-12-2007).]