Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#341250 Fri Jul 13 2012 02:32 PM
Petro Enthusiast
OP Offline
Petro Enthusiast
This may seem like a strange topic, but I thought it would be good for some friendly discussion.

I am a Customer Service Supervisor by trade, and have been for 3+ years now. So, needless to say, I am pretty picky about customer service. Whether it is my bank, the cashier at Wal-Mart, or a seller or collector.

I am 70% collector, 30% reseller, as I think a lot of us are. A true "picker," I believe, will love the hobby enough to do some of both. Most of the people I know are in the 50/50 range on buying/reselling. I've only been in the hobby about 3 years, so I am still so in awe of some of the stuff I get I keep more of it than I should.

I think most of us, being responsible adults, wouldn't take away from our families to sustain a hobby. So I bet we supplement our money for this hobby by selling some of our "good deals" we find.

Now this brings me to my thought. I am not a seller, so I don't have to always cater to someone to get them to make a purchase. I'm not a buyer, so I don't always have someone catering to me to get me to make a purchase. I am caught in between. I have to show my friendly side to sell, and I expect to be treated well when I buy.

How much better do you think our hobby would be if we consistently considered the person on the other end of the deal? Since I have been here, I have met people on both ends of the spectrum. I have been PM'd by some of the friendliest people (one of which has convinced me to travel to Alabama for a gas show), and some real rough people. Very condescending, and, in my personal opinion, they think because they have been on here longer or possibly know more I am below them.