Oldgas.com Home  

Click here for Gas Pump auction listings

Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline
I recently bought and have received item ebay item 151042215717.
It looks great but I notice that at the tip of upper wing and around the Pegasus jaw the red enamel is slightly outside the blue outline border. You can see this if you use magnification feature of ebay. I would think that this could be entirely possible in the original enameling process.
At this price I may be a bit paranoid but the last thing I want is to buy a fake, expertly made in India. Any expert opinions out there ?
thanks in advance.

Last edited by Richard Sponholz; Wed May 29 2013 12:53 PM.

USN ret. 1966-1989
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
I'm not an Mobil expert but IMO it's a repop. between the grommets and the only other sign he sold recently was a repop Union 76 sign I would push to get my money back.

Last edited by Mike M.; Wed May 29 2013 01:38 PM.

Thanks
Mike

Always Looking for any Pure Oil and Sunoco Items.
R
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
R
No expert either...but looks real to me.

W
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
W
There are many places on that sign where the red porcelain is outside the lines. The grommets are smaller than the ones on my sign. Those two facts dont mean that the sign is a fake, but its not looking good.

Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Richard,
In comparison to my IR 47 PPP, the red is more "orangy" and I also have the same findings as wocopep. My other PPP has no red color creep beyond the border as well. FWIW the grommets are in the right location but smaller and not oxidized at all. That said, I would wait for Darin or Pegasus to weigh in with a meaningful opinion. LOL
Fred

Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast