Next Thread
Print Thread
#349717 Mon Aug 20 2012 02:52 AM
S
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
S
So I picked this up for $455. Well $475 with shipping. Good price or not?

I'm kind of new to this so spending that kind of money has me a little freaked. But I just have a soft spot for Sunoco.

asdfasdfasdfasdfasf.jpg porcelain.jpg

Steve Coppens
Always interested in Sunoco items!
Really want a Sunoco National pump ad glass!!
Steven C. #349726 Mon Aug 20 2012 05:46 AM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
(Just saying...not bragging).....I bought a doubled sided version a few years ago for about 1/2 of what you paid. I felt $250 was reasonable despite the fact that the yellow on both sides were somewhat faded which is what yours looks like unless it's just poor lighting.

I'm not saying you overpaid, but if you like Sunoco and felt good about what you paid....there's nothing more to say. It's an oldie and not one you see really often.

DOC @ THE AMERICAN GARAGE
S
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
S
Well of course i wish it had gone cheaper. But I do like it very much and look very forward to seeing it hanging in my garage!!! Thanks for the info!!

Steve Coppens
Steven C. #349818 Mon Aug 20 2012 02:12 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
...nice sign...but $20 to ship that large of a sign? You might want to make sure the seller is 'motivated' enough to do a careful job of packing it for the journey, 'cos it's going to cost a lot more than $20 to ship, IMO...

Looking for better Gulf items: signs, globes, cans and paper - especially porcelain Gulf flanges, and Gulf A-38 & A-62 ad glass...
gulfiend! #349826 Mon Aug 20 2012 02:43 PM
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
The seller may have wanted to make people felt like they got a "good deal" on the shipping because the profit margin on the sign was so high. Sometimes if I get a good deal on a sign I cut the buyer a break on shipping when I sell.

Eddy Smith
Call or Text: 678-232-4637
E-mail: eddysmithjr@gmail.com