Oldgas.com Home
Posted By: BA TRAMP OIL G&B T-177 - Tue Jan 15 2019 03:20 AM
Does anyone have nice photos of the inner workings of a Gilbert and Barker T-177? Are their any operating manuals out there? Thank you for any help you can provide and any photos or manuals you can share.
Posted By: huskybob Re: G&B T-177 - Tue Jan 15 2019 03:24 AM
http://oldgas.com/forum/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=710122&page=all
Posted By: BA TRAMP OIL Re: G&B T-177 - Tue Jan 15 2019 04:24 AM
Thank you for the great start huskybob!
Posted By: FlyingAFlunkie Re: G&B T-177 - Tue Jan 15 2019 02:33 PM
The link that Huskybob cited was to my thread. I thought I had a 177 as it has the lights on the side of the bonnet, a different door and did not have the shutoff and divert mechanism typical of the 176. So it seems, and I am by no means an expert as this is my first and only pump is that there are variations in the two common models, 176 and 177. I bet your pump case looks way different from my pot style. Another possibility is that the farmers who picked these up for use, changed the mechanisms to make them fit their needs. Your pump pics look similar on the outside but different mechanisms and internals.
I can post more pics tonight if that would be helpful, but mine doesn't have that gear mechanism at all.

Thoughts? Rick
Posted By: BA TRAMP OIL Re: G&B T-177 - Tue Jan 15 2019 03:38 PM
Always like pics. This too is my first pump. It is my understanding that the T-176 has a short door and no gallon selectors behind the door where as the T-177, T-178 and T-179 have the gallon selectors along with a long access door. My pump doesn't appear to be modified inside; no extra holes or brackets of any kind. Heck, even one of the bolts and nuts appear to still have the original safety wire connected.

Attached picture Safety wire.PNG
Posted By: Morgan Re: G&B T-177 - Tue Jan 15 2019 03:55 PM