Oldgas.com Home
Posted By: Newcollector New and first sign, Pennzoil - Thu Aug 03 2017 01:40 PM
I am new to collecting. I was always interested in it, however didnot know where to start. I saw this sign and just decided this is where I will start.

I was hoping to get some insight on my purchase. I have been trying to research it and looking for anything that could identify the year of the pennzoil logo. I also can't find anything like this sign anywhere. Not sure if that's good or bad. The sign is 8 feet by 4 feet, so it's rather large. I was told it's 1929 as a date for it, however I cant confirm

Any thoughts or insights to this sign would be great. I just want to know more and educate myself on it. What would you say is the value of a sign like this? Not looking to sell as I love it and it's my first one, just trying to see if I got a good deal or over paid.

This will help me with future purchases as I now want to add to the collection or should I say build a collection

Please look at picture and provide me with your knowledge

Thanks

Attached picture IMG_5114.JPG
Posted By: advertologist Re: New and first sign, Pennzoil - Thu Aug 03 2017 01:48 PM
welcome aboard .. ... cool
Posted By: Done4 Re: New and first sign, Pennzoil - Thu Aug 03 2017 04:17 PM
Welcome, I have one similar but a little different. The copy and bell are embossed with the guarantee seal embossed black with the type reversing out of the black. Yours maybe an earlier version. Can't help on value though, sorry.
Posted By: hawkike Re: New and first sign, Pennzoil - Thu Aug 03 2017 04:47 PM
If you are HAPPY with it then you got a good deal! wink
Posted By: Newcollector Re: New and first sign, Pennzoil - Thu Aug 03 2017 08:03 PM
Thanks!!
Posted By: Newcollector Re: New and first sign, Pennzoil - Thu Aug 03 2017 08:05 PM
No worries on value. I really just want to learn more and start building a collection
Posted By: Newcollector Re: New and first sign, Pennzoil - Thu Aug 03 2017 08:06 PM