Posted By: Miken Re: Real or Repro - Sun Feb 06 2011 08:28 PM
looks 3/4 real. But i'm no expert
Posted By: KZ1000 Re: Real or Repro - Sun Feb 06 2011 09:08 PM
Originally Posted By: 57tbirdkid
I think it's a reproduction made to look old-
Texaco sign

hope your not serious
Posted By: 57tbirdkid Re: Real or Repro - Sun Feb 06 2011 09:11 PM
About what? To me it looks like a repro that someone left outside. The T looks too wide. Maybe the way I wrote it was different on how it sounds. I know reproductions are made to look old. But this one is made to look original! Maybe that's a better way to put it.
Posted By: Scott Baselt Re: Real or Repro - Sun Feb 06 2011 10:58 PM
Looks original to me. ROUGH but original. Wouldn't even make a decent barn hanger unless Doc worked his magic on it.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Posted By: THE AMERICAN GARAGE Re: Real or Repro - Sun Feb 06 2011 11:01 PM
PERHAPS IF YOU OVERLAPPED ANOTHER SAME SIZE TEXACO SIGN OVER THE MISSING PORCELAIN, THIS SIGN COULD WORK. BE SURE THIS ONE IS COVERING A GOOD SIZE HOLE IN THE WALL WHERE YOU ARE HANGING IT SO I CAN SERVE A DOUBLE PURPOSE!
Posted By: KentuckyT Re: Real or Repro - Sun Feb 06 2011 11:19 PM
I agree with you Keith, the T does look off.

It could be a matter of different sign makers standards when this sign was made in the teens and twenties (if it is an original).

If it is a reproduction, someone put a lot of effort into aging it.
Posted By: 57tbirdkid Re: Real or Repro - Sun Feb 06 2011 11:53 PM
Ebay sign:

My Sign:

Posted By: THE AMERICAN GARAGE Re: Real or Repro - Mon Feb 07 2011 12:12 AM
I'VE SEEN THE 42" FILLING STATION TEXACO BOTH WAYS. MAYBE ONE IS EARLIER THAN THE OTHER?
Posted By: 57tbirdkid Re: Real or Repro - Mon Feb 07 2011 12:14 AM
I thought they made it like my sign and a script version? From the looks of the script version it does not look anything like the one on ebay>
Posted By: Tankar Re: Real or Repro - Mon Feb 07 2011 12:14 AM