Oldgas.com Home
Posted By: CLA Real or repro? 25 inch Sinclair Aircraft sign - Sat Jun 07 2014 12:21 AM
Included at the end of this text is a link to a photo of a Sinclair Aircraft sign that I've had hanging on my wall for a while. I have never known whether it was original or a repro. I'm asking for opinions on that question. It has all the indications of age, but I'm not an expert, and age can be faked. It is painted metal and weighs about 6.5 pounds. It is 25.5 inches diameter. The back appears to have been white originally, but is now darker and dirtier looking. The attached photo was taken with my cell phone. I can take it off the wall to shoot the back and also use a better camera if better pics are necessary.

Thank you
[img:center]https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B53RodyxqJ-TVm5mZ18tUEVPMHc/edit?usp=sharing[/img]
IMO- aftermarket... cool
Posted By: wocopep Re: Real or repro? 25 inch Sinclair Aircraft sign - Sat Jun 07 2014 12:51 AM
Mid to late 90's reproduction
Posted By: CLA Re: Real or repro? 25 inch Sinclair Aircraft sign - Sat Jun 07 2014 12:39 PM
Any idea on where it originated? USA? Overseas? Did these exist as originals in this exact size or were they some other size? I know Desperate, AAA, and Andy Rooney were/are big repro sign makers, but I don't recall that they made anything this big or this heavy. Those 3 also marked their stuff with their names and didn't use paint. This one appears painted and aged.

I'm just trying to better understand what I have. My cost was minimal and it has a decent look, so I'm not unhappy with the purchase, but I've had a few people inquire if it was for sale, and I'd like to be able to give them good information and establish a fair price if I decide to sell it.
Posted By: KZ1000 Re: Real or repro? 25 inch Sinclair Aircraft sign - Sat Jun 07 2014 06:14 PM
Steve Jelf I believe made these, should be stamped on the back.

found this link, don't know if he is still in business