Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Done4 Offline OP
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
I was wondering how many of us have our roots in gas and oil? I grew up next to a gas station that my grand dad owned and my dad and uncle worked there for him when they were younger. It is where I grew up until I went into the service. The house on the right was my home. You can hardly see him but my uncle is next to the Gilbert Barker pump.

Ahhhh, the good old days.

grnpa's gas station_2.jpg

Have gas all the time
Value Questions and Showcase forums

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
S
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
S
Not me Les. Sawdust. Dad was a carpenter by trade.
Great picture of your family heritage there!! Thanks for sharing!!

Steve Coppens
Always interested in Sunoco items!
Really want a Sunoco National pump ad glass!!
S
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
S
We were dairy farmers on my side, but my wife's family was into petro from 30's to 50's. This photo shows her grandfather & uncle on the left, daisy the cow, and Purvis brothers on the right. This was in Mars, PA. about 1931. Purvis Brothers is still in operation there and the three big tanks are still there, but buildings have been built around them.

100_2891.JPG
D
Veteran Member
Online Content
Veteran Member
D
I didn't grow up around the gas station business, but have a couple associations from the past. My great Uncle Leslie Sheffer owned a Leonard gas station in Rollin, Michigan. My Dad remembers helping out around the station as a kid when he stayed with his cousins. My Dad also worked at a Sinclair station in his high school days.