Click here for Petro Porcelain Sign auction listings

Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
R
OP Offline
R
Hi all, new member here. I've been into old gas and oil for years and this forum is fantastic. I've been picking full time for almost 28 years now. My last "great" find was an original porcelain neon Avery Tru-Draft Tractors dealership sign(which has since been beautifully re-neoned by it's new owner, which I'm sure is a member here wink ). This latest find though has me stumped, and I was hoping to get some guidance from the many knowledgeable members here. On a recent deep-in backroad hunt, I spotted a very interesting porcelain sign on the side of an ancient store building that had obviously been closed for decades. After making contact with the owner and making a very fair offer, I was able to take it home with me. The sign had hung on the side of that old wooden store building for years, he actually had to pry a board off to get to the nails holding it in place. It's originally flange sign but the flange has been flattened (which happened to a lot of them, apparently). I'm guessing the sign hails from the early 1900's. From the research I've done, I believe it may be the American Gasoline Company, established in 1912 by Henri Deterding. From the web: "Henri Deterding creator of the Royal Dutch-Shell Group in Holland and Great Britain, moved into California in 1912 with his American Gasoline Company (Shell Company of California after 1914)". I've searched everywhere for another sign like this with no avail. No images, adverts, oil cans, nothing. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

20170202_133402.jpg 20170202_133429.jpg 20170202_133719.jpg 20170128_174727-1.jpg
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Veteran Member
Veteran Member