Oldgas.com Home  

Click here for Gas Pump auction listings

Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#729622 Fri May 17 2019 05:19 PM
OP Offline
I'm new to the Old Gas community. I have several old and heavy porcelain signs to sell and I'm finding it difficult to establish a price for them and how to handle shipping. I checked with UPS and they're telling me that I must ship "freight" and the packaging costs for them to put it in a crate that is acceptable for shipping would be $175. Two of the signs weigh 30 pounds each and are in excess of 48 inches top to bottom. They tell me shipping from my home in Arizona to Illinois would be about $470 not including insurance. Thus, shipping is not going to be cheap. If I sell on Old Gas it looks like there are no fees assessed or am I missing something? I think EBay charges 10%. And do I just negotiate shipping with an Old Gas buyer. Thanks for any help.

J
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
J
Hi Donald, welcome to Old Gas.

Hopefully I can help you out a bit with some of my experience. Selling on ebay is typically 10% and most of the time you are paid through PayPal which cost 2.9% (so, 3%)...for easy math, let’s just consider this 13%. The other issue with EBay is you really need to just post a cost for shipping. People don’t typically like “to be determined shipping”. I feel like a lot of bigger signs on EBay are just a round number for shipping, such as $100 or $35. It could cost the seller much more than that number but it lets the buyer know what they will have into the item regardless. The huge benefit of EBay is that it is worldwide with a ton of users.