Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#37180 Thu Sep 20 2007 06:04 AM
T
Thurman Offline OP
OP Offline
T
I'm still learning in this field so--I've noticed that some pumps for sale on this site and E-bay have had their guts removed and some have not. Other than making the pump lighter, or a person's personal choice, is there any good reason to remove the internals from a pump. My preference would be to clean them up and leave them in.

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
#37181 Thu Sep 20 2007 06:08 AM
S
S
I removed the "guts" os my pump to make it lighter. Stuff I removed was easily 100 pounds.
I also didn't want any old gasoline leaking out of it while I was moving it, or when it was in my garage. Good thing, too, there was at least a couple of quarts left in it, even some in the hose.

Always looking for Texaco Canada, Supertest, White Rose, McColl Frontenac, and Miller Oil Co. info.
#37182 Thu Sep 20 2007 08:00 AM
S
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
S
Over the years I restored many pumps & sold them to restaurants,for other people's gamerooms etc. I always gutted them, steam cleaned, sandblasted all parts, & used all new bolts. That way there was NEVER the hint of the smell of old gasoline. I did them this way even for my own restoration. Never know when someone someday wants to buy it from you for their "special place". Sam

#37183 Thu Sep 20 2007 08:02 AM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Gut em!!! No sense dealing with the weight or the hazards of the old gas in them. They sometimes leak on me after buying them before I get them gutted and it is a possible fire hazard.

Keith

Drive with Care and Buy Sinclair!! I buy Sinclair globes, signs, cans, ect.
#37184 Thu Sep 20 2007 08:29 AM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member