Click here for Project Car auction listings

Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Don't be silly Paul, no chip here, is that what you think when someone corrects you? You were wrong, happens to all of us, don't let ego get in the way of common sense. I've been in the HCCA for 30 years and collecting for 40 plus, I have some knowledge about this stuff. There may be some nominal value, never said there wasn't. Ads are great for some collectors, I have some too. My point was that these are not anything mysterious and certainly have nothing to do with an agreement between car companies for a uniform size for display, think about it, there have been over 5000 different American car companies, all fiercely competitive, again use common sense to figure it out. You should buy them and frame them, sounds like you know the market and that's a good thing.

Last edited by Neil Gerrard; Thu Dec 26 2013 08:00 PM.
R
reinat Offline OP
OP Offline
R
i will look them up

C
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
C
Neil... I suggest you re-read the posts

You state "...The premise supposed by the OP that these were somehow distributed and placed in a frame is far fetched to say the least. Multiple car companies working together to get someone to put a tiny ad in their window? I don't think so. I guess it's been long enough since the 60's and 70's that people think the repo stuff from then is real. Someone mentioned Clymer, he was reproducing stuff since the 40's. They may be something special to someone but I doubt it and "picker's postulation" (patent pending) doesn't change that"

First, OP(original post) made no mention of use but was asking about them!

Second, no where was it stated car companies were working together. Rather I was speaking of an Ad company creating a unified size for advertising purposes.