Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#577873 Sat Nov 01 2014 04:25 PM
W
Wagas Offline OP
OP Offline
W
Hi, Will from WA state here. I am just getting started, got bit by the bug.... Grew up hanging out at my Uncle's Gas Station and now I want to start collecting Gas Globes and Gas & Oil porcelain signs. Where do I start for Globes the are "reasonable" I see several for sale under the $400 mark, any suggestions or help would be very much appreciated. As far as brand goes for the Globes and signs, I don't really care, I think they are all beautiful.
Thanks,
Will

Last edited by Wagas; Sat Nov 01 2014 04:26 PM. Reason: misspelling
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
O
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
O
When it comes to globes try Scott Benjamin at www.gasglobes.com. He wrote the book on them along with Wayne Henderson, if you buy from him or Lonnie Hop you are guanteed to get the real deal at a fair price..

W
Wagas Offline OP
OP Offline
W
Thanks much

Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Years ago Lonnie Hop wrote a series of articles for Check The Oil magazine about collecting globes on a budget that was an inspiration to many new globe collectors.
The more common Sinclair globes like Dino, Dino Supreme, new style H-C; new logo DX; new logo Marathon Mile Maker and Super M are all budget friendly entry level globes.
There are many capco body globes in the $400 & under range. You may want to consider buying single lens globes as well.
There is no substitute for going to the shows to learn about globes and to network with other collectors and dealers.

Wanted: Gas pump globes:Sinclair & affiliates, IL companies. Ripple bodies. Anything Sinclair, Stoll, Pierce, 4 Bros.

http://www.lastgas15.com/
Veteran Member
Veteran Member