Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#114866 Wed Nov 21 2007 05:51 PM
R
OP Offline
R
I am just getting started with a few signs in my collection and found this site. I already have a few nice Mobil signs, but I see one on ebay that is much different than the one I have. The auction number I am looking at is 150184823975. I see three things for sure that are different than mine on this sign I am thinking about buying. The one listed is missing the dot behind the "A" in USA. Also, that "O" in Gargoyle has a red line inside it, and mine is missing this. Last but not least is the mouth of the Gargoyle. My Gargoyle has his mouth open, and the color inside the mouth is white, not red like this listing. Perhaps they made a few different designs in this sign, and I need to add this one to my small collection. Any help?

Veteran Member
Veteran Member
We have talked about this sign in the past and I believe the one on ebay you posted the number for is possibly an unmarked repo? The seller states the history as unknown and has posted on this site. Others will probably chime in.

Keith

[This message has been edited by keithia (edited 11-21-2007).]

Drive with Care and Buy Sinclair!! I buy Sinclair globes, signs, cans, ect.
C
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
C
Rick, welcome to Old Gas. I have never seen a Gargoyle sign that has the mouth filled in. I would say that is a reproduction or fantasy sign. It just does not look right, all the way from the lettering to the Gargoyle to the back. My guess is that an original sign would have a white back. I would pass. Just my 2 cents worth. Any other opinions?
Brent

P
P