Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
D
dj3928 Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Hi all,

I am a newbie to gas station collecting and have a question about restoring a gas pump. I have a Tokheim model 452A made in 1964, its a Shell pump. How do you guys get the correct paint color for shell pumps? Is it just Yellow and Orange or is there special Shell colors.
I realize that repro parts are not available for this pump but it is all there, the stainless pieces, gaskets, etc... so hopefully I wont need anything for it.

Thanks for the answers to my questions, I'm sure I will have more after I start restoring this pump.

Darrell

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Hi Darrell,

Welcome to oldgas! The best bet for getting a paint color is to match the paint to the signs/decals you are going to use for your pump. Paint codes are available, but usually dont match the signs/decals very good.

Hope this helps, Ryan

FREEDOM oil items wanted.

Veteran Member
Veteran Member
...for 1964, the pump should be either white (Super Shell) or yellow (Shell Gasoline)...original decals and/or plastic pump signs are generally available on eBay from time to time...you may even be able to find a good spot of original paint on the back of one of the panels, or under the stainless pieces, that you could have matched...

...there are several photos of Shell pumps from that period in the 'Service Stations, Vol.1' book, available from the Oldgas Bookstore...

...sounds like a pretty easy restoration, and you should be able to keep it really authentic and original with very little trouble...please take before and after photos and post them on Oldgas...

Looking for better Gulf items: signs, globes, cans and paper - especially porcelain Gulf flanges, and Gulf A-38 & A-62 ad glass...
Veteran Member
Veteran Member