Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#183823 Sun Apr 18 2010 09:39 AM
B
OP Offline
B
I'm new to Shop Talk, and appreciate any help. I'm restoring a 1930 Texaco station and need a sign to hang out front. I wonder if finding a quality reproduction or having a new sign made would be better than finding and hanging an expensive and battered antique. I believe a 36" two-sided porcelain "Gasoline Filling Station" sign would be appropriate. If I get a new one, I'd like it to be be historically accurate re: colors, font, arrangement, etc. Any thoughts on sources of information or product would be very welcome.

=>Bruce
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Welcome to the site Bruce.

Texaco's "Gasoline Filling Station" signs were phased out in the late teens, very early 20s.

Checkout the photo on ebay auction # 360246194510 it is of a 1925 Texaco station. This is the sign a station in 1930 would display, IMO.

Looking for Tide Water/ Tide Water-Associated/ Tidewater items
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Bruce: If you are looking for rustic I would go with an original sign, assuming it wouldbe secure and not prone to walking away. LOL I would even go with a better sign than a reporoduction. Those signs are still expensive to make. Good luck and don't forget to post some pictures when you are done.

Alex
Looking for Texaco and Power Gasoline items
Alex #183869 Sun Apr 18 2010 05:53 PM
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
Bruce
I like original and I like beat up original. I have found if it's something nice im tempted to sell it to but the next shiny or rusty object that catches my eye. Then I end up with a non weathered spot on the house or shop. My wife would prefer signs over sploched up siding.
Sploched: (spl-och-ing)a redneck term for siding under various degrees of weathering.

C