Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#188153 Thu May 20 2010 11:24 PM
A
Archaeo Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Hi there, I was wondering if you guys have any chronological information on the introduction of the "cone" style cans into the motor oil realm.

I'm an archaeology student working on the excavation of a Japanese logging camp, circa 1920s-1930s and we've just today uncovered a new style of can on site. Initially, it was assumed to be a beer can of the cone style - but the spout was threaded rather than for a bottle cap, which leads me to believe that it may rather be a oil can.

The artifact has yet to be fully excavated, and is heavily corroded, but if we can narrow down the dating of the object to a minimum year - then it may help yield a better dating of the site. So, if anyone knows in particular when the first of this style was introduced, it would be a great help.

Thanks alot

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Archaeo #188162 Fri May 21 2010 04:43 AM
R
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
R
Hello, if it is a beer can, cone tops were intro'd in 1936.

Looking for photos, etc from 60s era Shell-A-Rama gas station and Pal's Diner, Rt. 17 Mahwah, NJ
& US or state highway signs, shields, route markers
Archaeo #188176 Fri May 21 2010 07:15 AM
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
Guys, how about the cone top outboard oil cans. How long were those around?

Alan
Collecting MN and Minneapolis gas and oil related items
RetroPetro #188214 Fri May 21 2010 02:17 PM
A
Archaeo Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Originally Posted By: MetroPetro
Hello, if it is a beer can, cone tops were intro'd in 1936.

This seems to be the problem. The cone top beer cans are everywhere, and loads of information are available on them - but the question is if that this style was borrowed from the oil can variety and then made into beer cans, or vice versa.