Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
#22528 Wed Jan 11 2006 11:45 AM
L
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
L
I have refrained from posting in this forum on opinion items for some time now but must make an exception in this case. I've been restoring pumps for 20+ years and use and enjoy the sources of parts to aid in my restorations.
My message is to Jim and anyone else thinking along these lines. As far as artwork for fantasy or custom items, I could care less and do not want to become involved in an argument who owns the UNIQUE artwork. It appears that Jim feels he has the right to own OLD ORIGINAL ARTWORK that is redrawn by him ie: The Fyre drop lenses. If that is your stance, you have sold me the last item I will buy and I will encourage my fellow hobbiest to do the same. As already stated, I will do my talking with my wallet.

Larry Ivy
Premopetrol

larry ivy
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
#22529 Wed Jan 11 2006 11:51 AM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Scootdog:

My reference came from many areas. Auctions, books, actual lenses in peoples collections, items I own, etc.

I've stated this before in previous posts: Owning an original lens or decal or sign does not give you the copyrights to the image. The Copyright Office issues Copyrights. All you own is the item itself.

Anyone can create new art of vintage gasoline logos and send in an application for a copyright. But if the image is currently copyrighted, they will not receive the rights to the art they created.

It's my understanding that the Bearcat image(s) you are attempting to recreate are under copyright and you are negotiating with the holder for the rights to reproduce them. Is this correct or is my information wrong?