Oldgas.com Home

Home | Help | Events | Classifieds | Bookstore | Pictures | Auctions | Links | Collectors | Parts | Contact

Topic Options
#244864 - Sat Apr 02 2011 09:05 AM Ad Glass Shelf / Childs Night Light
DasFast1 Offline
Petro Enthusiast

Loc: Kearney, NE
Inspired by D Phillips's post a little while back about how people display their ad glass, I felt the urge to act on idea (Adult ADD will get you everytime). Right about that same time I came across a listing on e-bay that showed a Phillips 66 aviation oil can that I had never seen before (remember I am new to this). I eventually purchase this can from Racecop and find that this was the catalyst for this project. Wanting the ad glass sign to match the oil can, I talk with Jim Treadway (T-ways Graphics)about adding black and orange shields to a flite fuel ad glass. We settled on aviation instead and it turned out pretty good in my opinion. Then found some 12 volt orange LED lights on e-bay and 12 volt transformer and here is what I have come up with for an Ad Glass Display/Oil Can Display shelf that will be used as a night light. Still trying to decide what color to stain it but thought it was far enough along to share.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Edited by DasFast1 (Sat Apr 02 2011 11:08 AM)

Value Questions and Showcase forums

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
#244880 - Sat Apr 02 2011 09:50 AM Re: Ad Glass Shelf / Childs Night Light [Re: DasFast1]
itsagas Offline
Petro Enthusiast

Loc: Four Corners
Very nice. I like the orange LED's.

#244900 - Sat Apr 02 2011 10:50 AM Re: Ad Glass Shelf / Childs Night Light [Re: itsagas]
coopwyo Offline
Petro Enthusiast

Loc: Cheyenne, Wyoming
Nice job! Anything that combines woodworking and "old stuff" is right up my alley!