Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#28495 Sat Apr 23 2005 07:14 PM
D
OP Offline
D
Greetings, all. This is my first time here. I found the site doing a search for Vahey-Marsh-Wood in Youngstown, Ohio. My grandfather was the Marsh. I have nothing of the company and was wondering if anyone here could provide me with some information or even a source for some token of the company. I know very little of the company except that it ran probably started in the 19-teens and ran profitably for some years. I think it close some time after the crash in '29. I would greatly appreciate any help.

John Marsh
Columbus, Ohio

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
#28496 Sat Apr 23 2005 07:42 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Welcome to Shop Talk. Not much info available on that company. I did find a picture of this rare globe.

Wanted: Gas pump globes:Sinclair & affiliates, IL companies. Ripple bodies. Anything Sinclair, Stoll, Pierce, 4 Bros.

http://www.lastgas15.com/
#28497 Sat Apr 23 2005 08:15 PM
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
John,
There used to be a parking garage in downtown Yougstown with the name "Vahey"
at the top of the building. There are a few gas pump globes with the "Vahey" name I've seen in photos over the years, but never had a chance to buy one. Not sure what all they
did. You might find some information from either the local paper (The Vindicator) or from the local college (Y.S.U.). My Mother's parents lived in Youngstown and I visited with them often in the 1960's and 1970's. Too bad I didn't get into collecting gas & oil stuff sooner....Good Luck....

P.S. There is an accounting firm in Hubbard, Ohio that is named J.P. Marsh. Is it a relation to you? This guy's into neat old stuff too....Diners, Gas Stations, etc....