Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#298662 Fri Jan 20 2012 08:36 AM
M
Mumtaz Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Hi! I'm a newbie here. smile I'm actually a model horse collector rather than a petroliana collector, but I have a piece that falls into both categories, and I was hoping someone here might know something about it.

A little background info---in 1984, the Breyer company (which has been producing horse, farm, and wildlife animal figures since 1950) released a pegasus model. Rumors have swirled since then of red pegasus models (picture below) that were supposedly a special order, small production run for the Mobil company. No evidence of such a run has ever turned up, though a few models have been spotted on eBay and elsewhere. I finally acquired one and discovered that it is not a factory original paintjob but rather an after market custom paintjob.

It is nicely airbrushed, and the paint has a faint metallic luster which reminds me of the stuff used on model cars. Because at least a half dozen of these models have been spotted over the years, and all of them look the same, I'm thinking maybe they were painted as a promotion for a particular gas station by an enterprising employee or maybe by a Mobil collector for an event or something.

I know it's a longshot, but if anyone knows about these models, I thought you guys would be the ones to ask. Any light you can shed would be most appreciated! laugh

Here's a picture of the piece. The wings are removable. It stands about 7 inches tall at the ears.

http://www.whitehorseproductions.com/images/collection/Breyers/MiscRarities/custom_red_pegasus1.jpg

Thanks!

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
While I am familliar with Brio and Breyer , I've never seen this . certainly looks like a "keeper " though............ Ed Shaver