Click here for Petro Porcelain Sign auction listings

Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#30665 Thu Jun 17 2004 03:48 AM
OP Offline
Hello,

Although i am new to this forum, and the gas pump hobby, i have been restoring cars for over 20 years now. I am restoring a bennett model 1066, and the sight glass has been moved to one side of the pump. My question is, what goes in the openings where the sightglasses used to be in the doors? Does someone make a reproduction "medallion" for these openings, or a lense of some type?

Thanks in advance

John

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
#30666 Thu Jun 17 2004 06:55 AM
M
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
M
Their is repro sight glass trim and sight glasses.
The three piece trim which has a ring and two "spears" is around $50 for those three pieces-it also requires a round piece of flat glass in the center(dont know price).
the trim looks roughly like this
-O-
It look just like the 966 trim except the 1066 ring is bigger in diameter
An actual sight glass that would protrude through the sight trim is $20 for glass and 10 for plastic.

Visit the links on this sight for restoration supplies!
Mark

#30667 Thu Jun 17 2004 09:36 AM
OP Offline
The actual sight glass is now on the side of the pump, but the openings in the door are still there. I believe i was told this pump may have been refitted where two sightglasses (front and rear) were actually replaced with just the one on the side now. What fills the openings in the door, the 2" or so hole that the existing trim still surrounds? I guess maybe just the flat piece of glass? Is that piece available from a vendor, or is that something i would want to have cut from a glass shop?

John

[This message has been edited by 3shields (edited 06-17-2004).]