Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#318990 Sun Apr 15 2012 05:16 AM
D
Docdup1 Offline OP
OP Offline
D
I am a rookie in this hobby and I apologize in advance for asking what may be a stupid question. I do have a lot of years in car and motorcycle restorations and I have found that these forums are the most valuable source of great information. My question this time is about pump brands. Did the oil companies tend to stay with the same brand of pump for their products or did they use all different types? I would assume that franchise dealerships might have used many different brands, but I am not sure. The reason for my question is that I am shopping for paint schemes for a couple of pumps that I am working on. When I look at my books, I tend to find certain types of pumps shown with certain gas companies. I am not planning to sell any of these pumps to a museum, I just like to have stuff that is faithful to it's history.

Thanks,

Doc

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Docdup1 #319028 Sun Apr 15 2012 08:43 AM
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
To answer your quertion,I think the answer is yes and no.I think some did while others did not.For instance,M&S was owned at one time by Mobil,Conoco and Sunoco as I remember while local jobbers around here used whatever.

Also,please remember that as a station rebranded a pump might have been repainted several times to new company colors.

I share your interest in trying to display an item "faithful to it's history". With that in mind,since there are so many pumps and so many companies covering the time frame from the early1900's to today,I think it would help us to respond if you tell us which companies and eras are of primary interest to you.Any preferred colors?

Old Iron #319038 Sun Apr 15 2012 09:37 AM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Esso was a majority owner in Gilbarco...