Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#327158 Sun May 20 2012 04:31 PM
N
OP Offline
N
Ok, so I (as my user name states) am new to gas pumps. I was a diesel mechanic for over 10 yrs, so I'm not afraid to dive in and get something restored and see how it works. I aquired what I believe to be a good starter pump (Wayne 605). Its all complete minus one of the lower front panels- I recently started diving into this pump and have a few questions for some of the more experienced members. I am going to remove the lower guts (pump) of the unit for weight reasons and plan on keeping it inside my house once finished. Wondering if the pump and other related components in the lower portion of the pump is desirable @ all? Not sure if its worth it to hang onto and maybe sell/trade down the road or pitch it in the scrap dumpster and move on?
Secondly, is there a way to tell what the pump was originally by some of the paint work? I have begun to remove some of the components and have found what looks to be red and white stripes under the hose reel cap. The sign on it now shows it to be Gulf, but it looks to have been painted SEVERAL times over.
In looking over everything, I see 4 light bulbs under where the globe once sat (has since been capped off)- my guess is this pump originally had the clear or windowed front and rear glass on it but has since be converted for ....? Cost reasons?
Sorry to be all over the place, but im just getting into this gem and am stoked to make this pump look new(er) again. Thanks guys.

Last edited by newtothis; Sun May 20 2012 04:33 PM.
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Veteran Member
Veteran Member