Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#32965 Mon Mar 06 2006 09:18 PM
D
dwm3 Offline OP
OP Offline
D
I’m new to the hobby and this is my first post. This site offers a wealth of information, so I hope that you guys can help with an auction question I have. I’ve attended a few shows in the last year and purchased several signs that I’ve been pleased with, so I decided to try an auction and went to Peotone last Friday. I bid on several items, but was the winning bidder on only items #24 (Goodyear sign) and item #186 the Sinclair pump sign. I have no problem with the Goodyear sign, but I believe the Sinclair sign is a reproduction. I noticed it as soon as the ringman handed it to me, but was too embarrassed at failing to notice it sooner, so I didn’t complain and just paid for the signs and left. Once I got home, I sent a complaining email to Aumann Auctions. Dan Matthews sent me a polite reply and states the he believes it to be an original. So, my question is, did any of you experts see the sign and do you think it is a reproduction? I’m far from an expert, so I don’t want to accuse Aumman of any questionable actions if I’m in error. I see several features that lead me to believe it’s a reproduction, but I will withhold comment for now.

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
#32966 Mon Mar 06 2006 10:09 PM
K
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
K
dwm3......Welcome to the best petroliana site in the universe.......maybe sum Sinclair collectors will look up #186 and give you there opinon.........or post a picture of the sign.
What did the description say thats a place to start?