Print Thread
#36595 Tue Feb 07 2006 12:24 PM
B
BLange Offline OP
Petro Enthusiast
OP Offline
Petro Enthusiast
B
How would you go about contacting people about a sign they have? Like this one I found today. I'm not big into signs, but I no Neon signs are collectable. It's on a dealership and still being used. Do you just leave it alone, or do you ask. The worst thing they can say is no right. I'm not good at this part of the hobby, asking "is this for sale"

Found this today too. Same thing, do I ask. If you look at this building from the front it say's Garage in the brick. Is this a Fleckenstein globe holder, if not any one no the maker and value?

I guess I gave away the town it's in.

Brian

[This message has been edited by BLange (edited 02-07-2006).]

Always looking for SKELLY items.
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
#36596 Tue Feb 07 2006 01:01 PM
G
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
G
Brian it never hurts to ask. You are correct that they can only say "no". Express your interest in it as a collector ONLY. Tell them how much you admire it and how good it would look in your collection. "Feel them out" during the conversation and see if you have a chance at it. If they will consider selling it, they will probably ask "how much you willing to give". You need to do some resaerch and see what these signs sell for and make them a decent offer if they don't already have a price in mind. It would probably be your responsibility to remove and replace the sign, so factor in that cost. So, research the sign and then go ask about it. If they say "no", give them your name, business card, phone number, etc and tell them "whenever and if...". Good luck.

Oh yea, if you have a beautiful, voluptious, wife/girlfriend, bring her along!!! LOL

#36597 Tue Feb 07 2006 04:05 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member