Petro Enthusiast
R
Update: Just pulled the listing

T
Petro Enthusiast
OP Offline
Petro Enthusiast
T
Well Redhot, I am not a professional appraiser .But since you asked I will give you my opinion .I think your sign is a 100% reproduction .I think that someone copied the other 15" sign ,rotated the holes ,and made the back less glossy .I think your sign is missing the red triangle because it is a copy of the fake .I think it has the REG. T.M. because it is a copy of the fake .I think it has the date 3-30 because it is a copy of a fake .I think that someone saw what was being said about what was wrong with the other sign on here .I think that someone tried to improve on the other fake sign .

Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
I don't know why I'm trying so hard on this thread, but it bothers me when I see an original sign tagged as a reproduction.

The holes weren't rotated to make it appear different. 15" Lubester signs had holes at the 10,2,4, and 8 o'clock position. Pump plates had holes at the 12, 3, 6, and 9 o'clock position.

8" Lubester signs had two holes (12, and 6 o'clock). 8" pump plates had holes at 12, 3, 9, and 12 o'clock position.

Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Damn this thread is confusing. I think I'll start collecting beanie babies

"Remember, history that is forgotten is doomed to repeat itself!"
R
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
R
James I don't know who to believe anymore. I feel like no matter what I do I'm always wrong....I just pulled the sign I'm just not going to sell it. This is not worth the headaches. Everyone thinks they are an expert and its a he said she said argument....

Veteran Member
Veteran Member
I got a bunch for ya, Rick! grin pretty sure they are original!

Looking for gas,oil related clocks,especially neon and spinners .clock repair available. Mick
Veteran Member
Veteran Member