Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#43711 Wed May 30 2001 01:25 PM
W
OP Offline
W
I've been collecting pumps and petroliana for over 10 years, but this one has me a bit confused. It is a Wayne 70, but only stands about 4 feet high.

(larger photo at http://www.winktimber.com/photos/way70d_2.jpg )

On top of the pump is a meter that reads gallons only. It came from a county highway garage. I am told it is called a "Dispenser" because it does not include $$, but according to one of the books I read, a dispenser does not have the pump in the machinery, rather the pump is in the underground tank.

(larger photo at http://www.winktimber.com/photos/way70d_label.jpg .)

The tag on the side reads:
  • Model 70
  • Series 21-15
  • Ser. No. 131874

The tag on the Veeder-Root "Visible Register" box atop the pump reads:
  • Form No. A 151300
  • Ser. No. 603207

Any help on rarity or value would be appreciated. My primary interest is in Tokheim pumps so might consider a trade.

Tim Winker
tim@winker.net

[This message has been edited by Wink Timber (edited 05-31-2001).]

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
#43712 Wed May 30 2001 01:57 PM
J
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
J
This is proof of what I have said before, you can't trust the model numbers given to gas pumps by their manufacturers.
Actually Wayne used the 70 three times. The first one is the one we always think of when someone says he has a Wayne 70. And when you think about it, how many versions of the 70 were there?
The 70 you have was introduced in the late 1950s as the Model 70 Series 2I, Industrial Dispensing Pump. There was also a Model 70 2F, Farm Dispensing Pump. It had a clock style meter on the front of the pump.