Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
D
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
D
I am not a Texaco expert or specialized collector by any means, but something I have noticed in common with Texaco plates that have a darker color lower section is that the date codes are usually a bit blurry....mine on my 1945 Sky Chief is "fuzzy". On the other hand, my Fire Chief and Sky Chief Supreme from 1960 with white lower areas have pretty crisp date codes.
Looking at some of the posted known originals of the Diesel Fuel 2 and Diesel Chief L you notice the somewhat fuzzy date codes in the heavy red or green backgrounds. The sign in question of the post I would personally be suspect of based on the very bold date code, which to me looks like a more modern font as well. Just my 2 cents....
Darin

Darin Sheffer
Always looking for Mobil and Marathon items I don't already have!
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
...thanks for posting the pics; they definitely look different than the sign from Facebook...and one currently on eBay...in fact, two of the last three Diesel Chief L signs that sold had the fine brush pattern...one seller with such a sign listed now, said the sign was unused, has remnants of original onion skin paper wrapped around it when he found it - but it had no grommets confused

Originally Posted By: DWSheffer
something I have noticed in common with Texaco plates that have a darker color lower section is that the date codes are usually a bit blurry....mine on my 1945 Sky Chief is "fuzzy". On the other hand, my Fire Chief and Sky Chief Supreme from 1960 with white lower areas have pretty crisp date codes.