Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#657708 Wed Jun 08 2016 05:24 AM
KZ1000 Offline OP
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
The following article appeared in our local paper, Mike started out repairing a couple small damaged signs and has built up quite the reputuation as the go to guy. Several big name dealers use him as he will spot repair and blend in the repair without the need to clear the whole sign in most cases,and it is very hard to see the repair. He has done a couple hangars for me and is a whiz at matching the colors.

A good sign

News staff photos by Andrew Mansfield: Mike Rahaim has developed a business in restoring antique signs. He’s working on restoring this Sinclair Gasoline sign, plus the Oilzum and Skelly signs.

Using automotive paint, he restores large antique porcelain signs that were once used as advertising logos for old companies, and are now collectors’ items very much in demand.

“I am self-taught on how to repair these signs,” he said.

“That first year I didn’t make any money but it intrigued me, it was a new challenge so to speak.

It’s really taken off in the last three years.”

The 25 years prior to that, he ran his own auto body shop on West Broadway.

Before he transitioned between shops, he began to get into restoring after being approached by a sign dealer, the items being in the realm of antiques television viewers might see on the History channel show “American Pickers.”

Gradually, Rahaim learned how to mix different colored paints to make the signs look more polished while also retaining their original artistry.

He said the large advertising signs are made of metal, with porcelain fired over the surface, which took time for him to learn how to properly paint over.

Now, he’s booked by collectors to restore their signs well in advance, and the practice has become his main source of income, connecting him with collectors all across the country.