Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#687019 Thu May 18 2017 12:50 AM
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
I have been trying to buy this car for 25 years. Finally was able to buy it. Been in the building for 50+years. So here is just a little of the story how it started. I was out looking for stuff found a old farm and say a gas pump so stopped in. I asked if the pump was for sale the guy said we still use it but if you buy me a new 110 volt pump I will trade you I said sure it was a tokenism 36b complete. So I made planes to come back the next weekend and get the pump. So I get the pump loaded and we start talking and he asked what I do for a living I tell him I am a mechanic, he says you like old cars I say yes he says come with me let go look behind the old build and look at some. I find about 40 cars most just parts. Buy there was a complete 66 impala 2 door hardtop. I ask is it for sale he says yes, I ask do you think it will run he says should been sitting there for about 15 years. So we make a deal. I make planes to come get it the next weekend again (this is 150 miles one way) The next weekend I get there he ask you driving it or putting it on the trailer I said if it will run I will try driving it, he says lets see what it will do. So we put on a battery turns over good but no start some check for spark no spark, so I said probable bad points so I better load it he says I have new point in the old building if you want to try it. I say sure so off we go, (now I have not been in there yet) so in we go in in the back of the building sets a 53 Chevy convertible I ask right away is it for sale he says NO I said if it ever comes for sale I want it. So we get the points and put them in the impala and it fires right up and I drive it home 150 miles no problems I could not believe it. So I go back a couple weeks later to let him know I got home fine (did not get a phone number not sure why