Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
B
B16 Offline OP
OP Offline
B
I'm new to buying oil cans and would like to know if one quart tin oil cans are being reproduced? If so what major 'differences' should I be on the look-out for? Thanks.

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
I'm not a major can guy, so I can't contribute much. But I know there are various types of cans that people should look out for. Like wrapped cans, cans that were re-rolled and lidded to look like complete original cans.

Can anyone provide info and thoughts on the above, and maybe give more examples? While those aren't necessarily reproduction cans, I think they are sometimes meant to deceive buyers into thinking they're getting something different than what they're expecting.

Alan

Alan
Collecting MN and Minneapolis gas and oil related items
J
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
J
B16

Before accepting the information above, you should wait for the big can collectors to tell you what to look out for.

Jack Sim

Author, 1st & 2nd editions of Gas Pump ID book, 3rd edition is now available at www.gaspumpbible.com
Air Meter ID book also available