Print Thread
#698447 Thu Nov 09 2017 03:42 PM
B
buzzy56 Offline OP
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
B
Need a little help here . I am new to one piece milk glass globes . Picked this up yesterday . One piece heavy milk glass globe with 2 holes at 3 o'clock and 9 o'clock . The collar is 6" across .The face is 13 1/2 " to the outer groove . The inner groove closest to the center is 12 1/2 " . There are two steps in the face of the globe . The width at the top from the side is 4 3/4 " . From my research is seems that this globe had Sinclair Or one other brand inserts ? Second one I don't know brand . The old lady had this in the bottom of a barn stored & believed to be 1940s ? There are two holes on each side that something appeared to go into maybe to hold the lens in ? What goes in those holes . Only have collected a few capco's so far so very inexpierienced on one piece globesamd would klike to find and put the correct lens in this . Thanks for any help on this . Still getting the hardened tar off the backside that was put on pretty heavy for some reason.

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg

Wanted TEXACO related items & SUNOCO related items .Signs -Globes et'c. Oil Cans - Grease cans .
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Veteran Member
Online Content
Veteran Member
Not a one piece globe.
Just a milk glass body that takes double-strength deep notched lenses.
This particular type of body was used for Sinclair lenses a lot.
Jim

Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Try this web site!

http://gasglobes.com/

Everything Cities Service
Specializing in old Gas Pumps
kwfrith@gondtc.com
Cell#-701-739-6133
B
buzzy56 Offline OP
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
B