Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Alex Offline OP
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
Hi: as you guys mostly know I collect Texaco “stuff”. I have been collecting for 30 years and thought I had a pretty good handle on values. It seems the last few years stuff is selling for some sky high prices. I just watched some cardboard cutouts on eBay from 1949 sell for between $500 and almost $700. While I have never seen these signs before, it just seems “goofy”. Maybe they are that rare. LOL. I mean, congrats to the seller and all that. Anyway, I post this not meaning to whine, but to see what others think of what they have seen in the items they collect.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/TEXACO-MARFAK-C...NR/192352608345

Alex
Looking for Texaco and Power Gasoline items
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
supply & demand .. ... cool

RANDY
Alex Offline OP
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
I can appreciate that.

Alex
D
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
D
I think it's that way across the board Alex, with any brand.

I do think, however, that the smaller repro signs (PPP's) are starting to hurt that category of collecting. Folks can't tell, and sometimes I think don't care, that they are buying a repro and they're starting to sell for the same money, and lower prices.
Darin

Darin Sheffer
Always looking for Mobil and Marathon items I don't already have!
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Like you Alex I've been collecting a long time and it is hard for me to accept the current prices based on condition verse cost. All of my friends and I keep saying prices can't go higher only to be surprised every year.

I guess it is time to accept that more people want this stuff and are willing to do what it takes to get it. So on one hand it is good for us that got in early and harder for the people starting their collections. I know that my attitude about condition has lowered quite a bit over the past few years.

Have gas all the time
S
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
S