Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#710012 Mon May 21 2018 09:26 AM
J
OP Offline
J
During the disassembly of my ECO Islander, I noticed that the water hose on my unit is actually branded with the ECO logo. Is that a common thing to have? would it be worth trying to preserve that hose or just replace it with a new one?

IMG_1805.jpg
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
J
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
J
Hi, Jeff. I'm not an expert on air/water stations by any means. But generally speaking regarding our gas and oil stuff, I think you'd want to preserve this ECO-branded water hose. I believe it's not seen that often. Even if you want to install a new hose as part of your restoration, save this original ECO hose. I guarantee you that someone here on Old Gas will want to buy it from you. Best, John

Last edited by Jolly-John; Mon May 21 2018 09:43 AM.
J
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
J
In my 30 years of restoring ECOs I have only found two of these hoses. I sold one and kept the other. I intend to restore a ECO that is as close to the one made in 1947. I have all the parts including the paper work that was in the crate with the meter. This includes all the items that are shown on the lower part of page 114 of my air book. All the advertising pieces including the hat.

If you intend to use the meter I wouldn't use the hose, it is probably over 50 years old. It will make a nice display. Just wipe it down with a rag with lacquer thinner on it, it should come out looking new.

Nice find,

Jack Sim

Author, 1st & 2nd editions of Gas Pump ID book, 3rd edition is now available at www.gaspumpbible.com
Air Meter ID book also available
Veteran Member
Veteran Member