Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#729802 Mon May 20 2019 09:33 PM
RedHat Offline OP
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
I was curious if anyone else had run into this issue as it’s nearly forced me off of eBay entirely. Since the turn of 2019, I’ve had to pay over 8% sales tax on EVERY SINGLE PURCHASE on eBay. That adds up as our hobby gets more and more expensive. It no longer matters if the item is in the same state, or country for that matter, if it’s through a private seller or store. I’m no lawyer, but from what I read there are 8 states (NJ included) that have agreed to allow the IRS to perform this BS tax collection and, for me, it’s the final straw with eBay. I used to sell and buy a couple thousand dollars worth of items each month on eBay as just a casual collector. I’m now down to a couple hundred dollars either way, at best, as I refuse to pay an extra nearly 10% on everything I buy. This is, of course, in addition to the plethora of other issues with eBay from fakes and fees to frauds. Anyone else run into this issue or know what the heck eBay is doing?

Last edited by RedHat; Mon May 20 2019 09:48 PM.

Looking for Michelin items + NJ oil company related items (Mohawk, Guardian, Whiz, etc) + animal-related petroliana + Gargoyle/Shell/Sinclair items
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
RedHat #729803 Mon May 20 2019 10:02 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
they start this here "Taxes may be applicable at checkout. Learn more" will force a lot of people back too the swap meets .. ... cool

received this May 3rd from ebay so it must be coming here in Calif.

eBay
Dear Buyer,