Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#749725 Sun May 31 2020 09:16 AM
A
OP Offline
A
I thought this might interest the Cadillac enthusiasts, as you would definitely know what a flop the Cimarron was and how short lived the model turned out to be. I found this at a flea market/ junk shop in my area and I know it is a showroom sign that hung from the ceiling. It’s double sided, very large and also the middle lights up. So far, I haven’t seen another one like it and I know they would be hard to come by.

5CA25DE4-04EB-4188-8778-FDE539587358.jpeg
I'll bet that sign looks nice when it lights up. I used to work as a tech at a Cadillac dealership in the late 1960s-early 1970s. The Cadillac was an impressive car back in the day, but I always wondered what they were thinking with the Cimarron. Jazzing up a compact Chevy into a Cimarron was never going to compete well with the upscale import cars of that era. frown

Jim "Oldgas" Potts
Your host and moderator
A
OP Offline
A
It is a great looking sign when lit up. There’s a locally owned shop here in my town where I get my cars repaired, and the owner is an older gentleman. One of his best friends was a mechanic at the local Cadillac dealership when the Cimarrons came out, and he says the local dealer refused to stock them. The dealership had been in the same family since it opened and catered to its regular customers and since they carried such great cars, he thought simply carrying them would cheapen the look and feel of his dealership so he refused. I’ve thought that was an interesting story since I first heard it, and I wouldn’t be surprised if it happened in other towns as well.

C
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
C
So is this for sale ?

Craig
This is the discussion/showcase section, not a For Sale section.

Jim "Oldgas" Potts
Your host and moderator
C
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
C