Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
F
fliptop Offline OP
OP Offline
F
Hello all ! While I am new to this site, I am definitely not new to collecting. I have been collecting Petroliana anf related items since the early 60's, as well as maintaining, driving and restoring cars (Ford Retractables, Mustangs and T-Birds)since then also. Now that I have "retired" from my 41 years as a Civil Engineer, I now have time to do the things I've wanted to for years.
My current project is a M&S Model 80 gas pump that I picked up about 25-30 years ago. It has spent most of that time inside my garage, just waiting for my attention. Thus the "works" are in pretty good shape. As a matter of fact, the gears in the variator look virtually new. The counter gears are a little dirty, but in good condition. Even befiore I doused everything with a good amount of PB Blaster, it reset correctly, every time. I have pulled out all of the electric motor items, the pump, reservoir, etc., just leaving basically the lighting conduits, computer, "eyeballs" and pipes to them inside. My intent is after stripping and repainting this pump, to motorize it so it appears to be pumping gas. I have been told by some "experts" that I have a 1949 or 1950 model of the M&S Model 80, and thus probably a Model 49 Veeder-Root computer. A friend has furnished me information on the Veeder-Roots, but of course it only covers the Models 36 and 56. I know the workings are vIrtuaslly the same, and understand how they should work.