Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#80113 Thu Jul 22 2004 05:07 PM
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
Hi. I am new to OLDGAS - and collecting Petro, and I am loving this website ! I wanted to tell you what happened to me last week. I knew of a farm in northern Va. that had at least 50 old pumps - primarly Bennets with Sinclair logos and Eries with GULF logos. I tried to buy the whole lot last spring - but they wanted to have an estate sale the same year. No sale ever happened. I contacted them twice this spring - same deal - they wanted to have a sale. I went down again last week - the family had paid a junk hauler to take them to the local wreckage yard ! I found the guy who hauled them away, who confirmed that he had hauled then to the scrap processer - and they were crushed the next day. I wanted to buy - and they paid to haul them away ! They still kept three 6' HC and two 6' Dino Sinclair signs and I saw at least one airmeter for the "sale", if that ever happens. Anyway, I feel better telling my story, and I am thrilled to be part of this website. Thanks, Brady Bowles

Value Questions and Showcase forums

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
#80114 Thu Jul 22 2004 05:40 PM
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
Hi Brady and welcome to the site. Ouch!!! that story hurts, I can imagine how you felt. I think I would make another trip down the road with cash in hand before they call the scrap dealer again. Just thinking, maybe that scrap dealer was one of the guys on this site, these guys are always coming up with great stories. Don't be surprised if those pumps turn up for sale here!!!! Just kidding, LOL.

#80115 Thu Jul 22 2004 05:42 PM
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
Brady....