Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#86665 Sun Sep 02 2007 11:39 AM
P
Pegasus Offline OP
OP Offline
P
The company of the month for September, 2007 is Ashland Oil. I worked for Ashland from 1971 to 1979, so in addition to my Mobil-related stuff, I have a few items from Ashland, Valvoline, and Freedom. Here's a list of companies and brands that became part of Ashland over the years:

Swiss Oil
Tri State
National (white Rose)
White Rose/Mid West Refining
Aetna
Frontier Refining
Freedom
Valvoline
Independent Quality Service
Dance
Payless
Superamerica
Oskey Brothers (North Star)
Red Head
Southern Oil
Hood
Tresler
Cincinnati Oil Works
Union Oil Company (Cincinnati,OH)
Pyroil

I'm by no means an expert on Ashland, but I'll be posting a little information on their history and pictures of the globes, signs, cans, and maps in my collection. For this COTM feature to even come close to last's month's great one on Conoco, you folks will need to pitch in by adding pictures of your Ashland-related items and any history you might have on any of the companies listed above.

So........here's some globes to start things off:

If you have pictures but don't know how to post them, send them to me via the email icon above and I'll get them posted for you.

Richard

Richard Weir
Corinth, Texas
Archived Forum Area

These topics are archived because they are older. You may not post new replies. Contact member through their email in their Profile or by PM message.
Help with contacting members

#86666 Sun Sep 02 2007 04:01 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Here's the glass version of the Flying Octanes with the green lettering, but no Ethyl:

Wes

#86667 Mon Sep 03 2007 11:37 AM
P
Pegasus Offline OP
OP Offline
P