Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#95911 Sat Jun 07 2008 07:05 PM
M
OP Offline
M
Greetings to all.

I’m quite new to this Gas Pump Compulsion; but, I’ve learned a bit by searching the Internet, visiting a number of sites, and reading a LOT of the postings by members of the Petroliana brotherhood.

But first a little of my “Back-Story”:

My wife, Christine, wanted to buy a Pump for my birthday in June. She would have liked to keep it a secret until the actual day – but that proved to be too complicated. With my help, she completed a purchase on eBay and we planned a trip to Michigan from our home in the North Carolina mountains. I retired here in 1994, after a career as a mechanical engineer in the Military Electronics field.

We had both developed an interest and longing after seeing an actual pump here and there – most likely Repros, I expect.

Chris paid a “best offer” price of $575 for a pump described as follows:

“This is an old Gas Pump that measures 77" tall with the topper and 60" without, it is 26" wide and 18" deep, it is in unrestored condition but is cool just the way it is, this is for pickup in Ann Arbor, Michigan. 48103 or buyer is to arrange and pay shipping. I can crate it for $150 if needed, thanks” file:///F:/Program%20Files/Zotero/storage/11494/eBayISAPI.html

Three pictures of a green pump with red doors and tops accompanied the auction offer and the price seemed fairly reasonable … at the time. Paint job is quite rough and seems to be inappropriate to the Sky Chief sign and globe.

When we picked up the pump it was almost midnight, dark, and only our new Garmin 760 GPS got us to our destination without fuss and muss.

Upon returning home, I began the Google Trek through the Internet. [What did we do before the Net and Search Engines?]