Oldgas.com Home
Posted By: 38ChevyPickup Picked up my Tokheim 39 today - Fri Aug 06 2010 10:44 PM
Can anyone tell me how to remove paint from the two different tags on the outside of my pump without damaging the tags? Does anyone know how to idenfify the age of the pump, is there a date somewhere? And the all illusive nozzle, I have read all kinds of post on this site about nozzles and what they should cost ($25-$35) can anyone give me a lead on where to purchase a Tokheim nozzle for my pump for that price? and Ebay is crazy high. Any help on any of my questions would be great as I am just starting out. Hopefully my pictures attached
Thanks, Mike

Attached picture Tokheim received 8-6-2010 0022.jpg
Attached picture Tokheim received 8-6-2010 0032.jpg
Attached picture Tokheim received 8-6-2010 0052.jpg
Posted By: badgas Re: Picked up my Tokheim 39 today - Fri Aug 06 2010 11:28 PM
Paint thinner and a scouring pad to remove the paint. There might be a date on the Tokheim tag. However, I believe that it's a late 40s-early 50s pump.

There was also a tall version of this pump.
Posted By: oldnfuelish Re: Picked up my Tokheim 39 today - Fri Aug 06 2010 11:40 PM
after you clean them as badgas said,you will have to repaint them.i take flat black and then after it dries go over with fine sandpaper on a sanding block.the raised numbers then come up and looks like new.repros are also available.
Posted By: 38ChevyPickup Re: Picked up my Tokheim 39 today - Sat Aug 07 2010 12:06 AM
Thanks for the advice, I was trying to remove the paint without having to repaint the original plates, thought there might be some kind of secret since lots of people have already restored these old pumps. Any other tips on removing the paint, or how to date the pump, or purchase a nozzle?
Posted By: mrbill Re: Picked up my Tokheim 39 today - Sun Aug 08 2010 06:12 PM