Oldgas.com Home
Posted By: 89sheepdog website that helps you spot a fake sign - Fri Apr 18 2014 11:02 PM
Hey guys I am new to collecting and the old gas forum, I was just wondering if there were any sites or guides that could hep you distinguish real and fake signs? Thanks!
Posted By: advertologist Re: website that helps you spot a fake sign - Fri Apr 18 2014 11:05 PM
welcome to oldgas.. cool
Posted By: 89sheepdog Re: website that helps you spot a fake sign - Sat Apr 19 2014 01:09 AM
Originally Posted By: advertologist
welcome to oldgas.. cool

Thanks Randy, I was looking for like a guide or blog that explains where the holes should be proper shapes of letters etc...
Posted By: 89sheepdog Re: website that helps you spot a fake sign - Sat Apr 19 2014 01:11 AM
for instance I have this sign, how can I tell if its fake or not?
Posted By: KZ1000 Re: website that helps you spot a fake sign - Sat Apr 19 2014 11:29 AM
unfortunately there is NO quick and easy way to identify repro's. It takes years of hands on and personal research to "Help" in determining if a sign is real or not. such information cannot just simply be put into print. Beware out there.
Posted By: Steven C. Re: website that helps you spot a fake sign - Sat Apr 19 2014 12:58 PM
Your best possible source for such information may be right here. I've only been in the hobby for 2 years, and between my own postings asking about fakes, and the hundreds of others asking about fakes, you learn a lot right here. It's not hands on but that can only be gotten through shows, flea markets, retail antique stores... it will take time.
One of the first lessons is this, if buying on eBay and it says, India or Argentina or..... Stay away!!