Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#10198 Fri Jul 11 2008 09:09 AM
P
OP Offline
P
Guys, the light fixture in my short 39 is in good shape - even the wire coating is not brittle or cracked anywhere that I can see. I would prefer not to rewire the unit if it's not necessary. If I don't rewire, my question is: What are your preferred methods for taking the old 2-wire light system and getting it to a grounded outlet? Thanks!

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
#10199 Fri Jul 11 2008 01:20 PM
C
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
C
Well, I'm by no means an electrician so take what I say with a grain of salt. If it has the original fabric covered wire, get rid of it no matter how good it looks. Sometimes though, these pumps were rewired in their 2nd lives on farms with modern wiring. I've had 1 or 2 come this way to me that were obviously rewired with good plenum coated wire in the not too distant past. I just took a piece of two conductor romex, spliced it on with some connectors and wired it to a replacement plug you can buy at home depot. Most light fixtures like desk lamps, etc aren't grounded.

One other thing to keep in mind: I plug my pumps in and turn the lights on maybe 10 times a year for an hour each time. If you're planning on using the lighting a lot or keeping it outside, you should probably just go ahead and rewire for piece of mind.

#10200 Fri Jul 11 2008 01:36 PM
B
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
B
Remove the old wiring, it's not worth the chance.... You have no idea what the insulation is like inside the conduit system.

If you still don't want to rewire. Ground it at the junction box where your bringing the new three wire cord to.

#10201 Fri Jul 11 2008 02:07 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member