Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#14447 Sun Apr 23 2006 07:56 PM
T
TMC Offline OP
OP Offline
T
I just picked up a sign.Wondered how to staighten a few bends and a crease without doing more or to much damage.Tom

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
I was wondering the same thing. I'd like to also hear input on straightening an otherwise mint porcelain (DSP) that is curved. The whole thing has about a 2" bow to it when lying flat.

Thanks,
Wes

F
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
F
I am not an expert by any means on this subject, but I have been playing around with porcelain sign repair for a few months now. You must remember that porcelain is glass and when you bend or strike it,it is going to break. Therefore, unless you want to touch up or repaint the damaged color decide if straightening is worth it. In a lot of cases the patina of a old sign is better than a touched up or restored sign. If a sign is real bad, but worth the effort, I use a press rather than a hammer to straighen the sign. This does a lot less damage then using a hammer. The problem you will have is excess metal. This is another problem that has several solutions, but I won't get in to that here. Good luck and I hope this helps a bit

Craig

Craig
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
A press is great, in a pinch I have sandwiched the sign with cardboard or wood and driven over the sign slowly with my durango. Sign is flat and you can go about fixing or hanging as you see fit!

------------------
Scott Wright-
Wanted Powerine, Bearcat and Powerlube Items- Lots to trade!

Scott Wright
B
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
B
SOMETIMES YOU GUYS SCARE ME TO DEATH !!!

DRIVING OVER PORCELAIN ???

WE'RE NOT ROLLING A SPRING LAWN HERE ARE WE ?