Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#17900 Thu May 04 2006 12:03 PM
P
OP Offline
P
I am fairly new to this but off to a good start. I met Jim Potts at the model t club swap meet in St Louis and bought some books last weekend. I have a few questions that I can use some help on. I have a nice blue tinted cylinder for the G&B 176 I am restoring, did all companys use Blue the tinted cylinder? do i need to stick to all glass, or 15" metal bodied globes to be correct for the era this pump is from?
What companys used G&B pumps in missouri?

Thanks for everyones help. this looks like a fun place.
Braden

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
#17901 Thu May 04 2006 03:08 PM
J
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
J
You are assuming that the major oil companies had stations in ever town and city. Back in the 1920s and 1930s most stations in a town the size of Sullivan were owned by the owner. He contracted to purchase gasoline from a local distributor. In your area the distributor could have been as far away as Rolla.
Assuming it was Shell (just for example purposes), the distributor would bring you decals and a globe to put on your pump. These were compliments of Shell. Shell would not purchase a pump for you or nor would they paint your pump, you had to take care of it yourself.
If you didn't have a pump, you called the closest equipment distributor and asked him to come out and sell you a pump.
The quipment salesman would bring some brochures from the gas pump companies he represented. You picked out the pump. The equipment dealer kept some pumps in stock in the warehouse so you probably took one of these.
It was delivered in the color red, and would have either a clear or tinted cylinder on it.