Page 1 of 2 1 2
#41229 Wed Mar 09 2005 08:36 AM
D
daka Offline OP
OP Offline
D
OK guys, PLEASE don't flame me.
I'm new to this....
I am looking for a gas pump to be used as a display in my garage.
I am "toying" with the idea of making one.
Shouldn't be to hard to make out of plywood with some original parts, nozzle, hose, hose hanger(?) face (without mechanism) and a replica globe...
I'm a pretty good cabinet maker.
It just needs to look like a pump.
So, whadda' ya' think!
I'd really rather not put $1500 into a restored pump when I can use those $ for my cars....
daka

84 Jag/Chev 350/325hp
87 Porsche 911 Targa
95 Isuzu Rodeo
00 Bmw 323cic
Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
#41230 Wed Mar 09 2005 08:45 AM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Daka, if you're gonna buy all the original and/or repro parts, manufacture some parts to make it look like a gas pump, you may as well buy an unrestored pump for a couple of hundred bucks, and it'll cost the same but look real.
Unless it is the wood work you like...
Just my 2 cents,
Claes

#41231 Wed Mar 09 2005 08:53 AM
D
daka Offline OP
OP Offline
D
If I could find a descent pump reasonably, I would do that. But, it seems that all the pumps that I liked were too expensive or the owner wouldn't ship it. (I don't need or even want the "guts")
I figure I could make one for about $100 worth of cabinet grade plywood and make some round "corners" and just use some hose, hanger, and fake faces.
Probably $200 -300 finished and painted!
and NO SHIPPING !

84 Jag/Chev 350/325hp
87 Porsche 911 Targa
95 Isuzu Rodeo
00 Bmw 323cic
#41232 Wed Mar 09 2005 08:53 AM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Daka