Home | Help | Events | Auctions | Parts | Pictures | Links | Contact
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#603468 Sun Mar 15 2015 04:13 PM
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
A guy I met this weekend said these were molds for car tires or wheels back in the 1920`s.....what do you think?

Last edited by texacokie; Sun Mar 15 2015 04:16 PM.

I am always looking for anything Texaco or Oklahoma oil and gas company's, also I am a newbie at seeking globes.
Value Questions and Showcase forums

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
...I don't think so...

Looking for better Gulf items: signs, globes, cans and paper - especially porcelain Gulf flanges, and Gulf A-38 & A-62 ad glass...
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
Originally Posted By: gulfiend!
...I don't think so...

It seems pretty far fetched to me also.

I am always looking for anything Texaco or Oklahoma oil and gas company's, also I am a newbie at seeking globes.
C
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
C
Molds for car tires are metal not wood. Those are molds for making sand castings for machine parts.

Collecting anything keeps you young at heart!
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Check out this Youtube Video... It is from the Brunswick Tire Company the Film is from the 1930s. The Subject of the Film is how Brunswick Tire "builds a Tire"...

Check out the molds used at approx. the 7:00 mark...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZISUfi-6Ik

At approx. the 8:07 mark, in this video they start working on forming tires on bucks... (video has no sound)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OfzO6QCxc68

Last edited by Bob Richards; Mon Mar 16 2015 12:53 PM. Reason: add video link

Looking for Tide Water/ Tide Water-Associated/ Tidewater items
Veteran Member
OP Offline
Veteran Member
Originally Posted By: Bob Richards