Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#181489 Mon Mar 29 2010 12:46 PM
O
onator Offline OP
OP Offline
O
Any recommendation for a newbie here? My son and I thought it would be fun to rehab an old pump. For me it was a chance to flash back to the day's when I pumped gas for a job (too bad he will never have that opportunity. Those were great jobs for a kid!) Little did we realize that this was such a popular and expensive hobby!! OK my question. for a first pump I have 3 nearby options;

1. Tokheim Model 300 ($425)
2. Wayne M+S 80 Ad Top ($500)
3. Gilbarco Model 96 ($325)

Am I in over my head, are these viable options or should I just run and fast?? Thanks!

Please use For Sale forums to sell

Please - NO offers to Buy or Sell in this forum category

Statements such as, "I'm thinking about selling this." are considered an offer to sell.
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Welcome to Oldgas. First thing is to go and buy Jack Sims' pump price guide volume 2. Assuming the Wayne is an ad glass top and not a script top, I don't see those prices as "screaming deals" that you need to jump on. (also depends howe complete they are and in what condition) Having said that, take a look at the pumps in Jack's book and pictures on this website and decide what type of pump you and your son like and go from there.

Alex
Looking for Texaco and Power Gasoline items
R
Petro Enthusiast
Petro Enthusiast
R
Wow, nice start for choices, and depending on condition that is mostly complete with little or no rot and a functioning computer and decent porcelain faces, these seem to be fair prices. Here in my area pumps are scarce and I would buy all three. Tokheim 300's are great pumps, but I would snatch up the 80 if its nice. I sure love mine. Get ready to start spending those Ben Franklin's and welcome to the sport.

O
onator Offline OP
OP Offline
O
Pic's of options

M+S 80.jpg Tokheim300.jpg
Veteran Member
Veteran Member